Ministry of Acolyte Installation Held


LATROBE, PENNSYLVANIA –Fifteen candidates from Saint Vincent Seminary were recently installed to the Ministry of Acolyte by the Most Rev. James A. Griffin, Bishop of Columbus, Ohio, at Saint Vincent Basilica, Latrobe. The installation was held Monday, November 17.

Installed to the Ministry of Acolyte were Philip Michael Kanfush, O.S.B., Saint Vincent Archabbey; Brother Matthew Laffey, O.S.B., Saint Vincent Archabbey; Brother Brendan Rolling, O.S.B., Saint Benedict’s Abbey, Atchison, Kansas; Joseph B. Codori, Jr., Diocese of Pittsburgh; Thomas Lewandowski, Diocese of Pittsburgh; David M. Hereshko, Diocese of Harrisburg; John-Michael Lavelle, Diocese of Youngstown, Ohio; Thomas Francis Hamm, Jr., Diocese of Steubenville, Ohio; Jeffrey Edward Tigyer, Diocese of Columbus; David T. Brzoska, Diocese of Charlotte, North Carolina; Luis Salvador Osorio, Diocese of Charlotte; David Matthew George, Diocese of Charleston, South Carolina; John T. Conway, Archdiocese of Atlanta, Georgia; Eric J. Hill, Archdiocese of Atlanta and Thony Roody Jean, Archdiocese of Atlanta.

The acolyte is appointed to aid the deacon and to minister to the priest. It is his duty to attend to the service of the altar and to assist the deacon and the priest in liturgical celebrations, especially the Mass. He is also permitted to distribute communion as an extraordinary minister.