Twenty-Six Receive Degrees

LATROBE, PENNSYLVANIA – Twenty-six students received degrees at Saint Vincent Seminary’s 153nd annual commencement ceremonies held Friday, May 7 at Saint Vincent Archabbey Basilica. Two students received dual master’s degrees.

The Archabbot and Chancellor of Saint Vincent, the Rt. Rev. Douglas R. Nowicki, O.S.B., was celebrant at the Solemn Vespers. Archabbot Douglas conferred the degrees on the candidates who were presented by Saint Vincent Seminary Rector, the Very Rev. Thomas P. Acklin, O.S.B., and given academic hoods by Seminary Academic Dean, Sister Cecilia Murphy, R.S.M.

The Rev. Demetrius R. Dumm, O.S.B., received an honorary Doctor of Sacred Theology Degree, honoris causa. Seventeen students received Master of Divinity degrees, eight received Master of Arts degrees and three received Master of Religious Education degrees. Two of those students received dual master’s degrees.

Receiving the Master of Divinity degree were Joseph B. Codori, Jr., Diocese of Pittsburgh, with high honors; John T. Conway, Archdiocese of Atlanta, Georgia, with honors; Rev. Justin D. Dyrwal, O.S.B., St. Andrew Abbey, Cleveland, Ohio, with highest honors; Thomas F. Hamm, Jr., Diocese of Steubenville, Ohio, with highest honors; Kevin J. Hargaden, Archdiocese of Atlanta, with highest honors; Michael B. Heninger, Archdiocese of Atlanta, with high honors; David M. Hersehko, Diocese of Harrisburg, with high honors; Eric J. Hill, Archdiocese of Atlanta; John Hou Tianxiang, Diocese of Beijing, China; Thony Roody Jean, Archdiocese of Atlanta; Matthew T. Laffey, O.S.B., Saint Vincent Archabbey, with highest honors; John-Michael Lavelle, Diocese of Youngstown, Ohio, with high honors; Thomas J. Lewandowski, Diocese of Pittsburgh, with high honors; Luis Salvador Osorio-Salazar, Diocese of Charlotte, North Carolina; Rev. Jerome J. Purta, O.S.B., Saint Vincent Archabbey; Paul Shi Hui Min, Diocese of Beijing; Jeffrey E. Tigyer, Diocese of Columbus, Ohio, with honors. Receiving the Alumni Master of Divinity degree was Rev. Jerome Purta, O.S.B., Saint Vincent Archabbey.

Awarded Master of Arts degrees were David T. Brzoska, Diocese of Charlotte, with highest honors; Philip M. Kanfush, O.S.B., Saint Vincent Archabbey, with highest honors; Charles T. Kelly, Friedens, Pennsylvania, with high honors; Dr. Linda S. Rockey, Pittsburgh, with highest honors; Brendan P. Rolling, O.S.B., Saint Benedict’s Abbey, Atchison, Kansas, with high honors; Georgia Rush, Greensburg, with high honors; Paul Shi Hui Min, Diocese of Beijing; Donald A. Walczak, Jr, Greensburg, with highest honors.

Earning Master of Religious Education degrees were John-Michael Lavelle, Diocese of Youngstown, with highest honors; Sr. Jane Nadackal, Sisters of Mary Immaculate, Greensburg, with highest honors; Fernando Molina Restrepo, Archdiocese of Atlanta, with honors.

Receiving the Diakonia Award, a service award presented annually at commencement, was Br. Brendan Rolling, O.S.B. Receiving the American Bible Society Award for excellence in the study of scriptures was Br. Philip M. Kanfush, O.S.B. The Omer U. Kline Award for excellence in preaching was presented to Michael Heninger. Honored with the Honorable Bernard F. Scherer Award was David Brzoska.